Happy 170th Birthday James Stevens!

James Stevens was born on 1st August 1847, 170 years ago today.  In his Diary he wrote about some of his birthday presents and cards…

1903  –  My 56th birthday.  Had pocket handkerchief of Annie, and big cup and saucer of Kate, and a case each from Lillie and Mabel to hold razor and spectacles. 

1904  –  My birthday 57.  Had 3 postcards and letter and Prayer and Hymn book from my family here.  

1907  –  My birthday 60 now[Maid] Honor and Kate sent me 11s to buy new gold rimmed spectacles. I bought them last Thursday at 6s 6d. Lillie and Mrs. Roach’s children sent me P.Cs [postcards?].

1908 – My birthday 61, had cup and saucer bought by Honor, two post cards from [Maid] Honor and Kate and letter from Annie and post card from M. Pearce.

1910  –  My birthday 63.  Had a new prayer book with hymns from Honor and Kate and a walking stick from Annie.

1911  –  My birthday 64, had letters from Annie, [Maid] Honor and Kate with 2s 6d each from the latter two and some money and stamps from Annie and post card from Lillie and Fred [Olds].

1912  –  My birthday 65.  Had letter from Annie, cards from Honor and Miss Buckland, and card from Mabel of Godrevy lighthouse, she being at Hayle Towans with a party from Bologgas. 

Author: Ann - Editor of James Stevens's Cornish Diary

My interest in family history began in 2010 and eventually led to the discovery of my Cornish ancestors. One of these was my Great-great-grandmother's sister, Honor Stevens, and her husband, James. Having read a copy of his published Diary I realised how useful it could be to other family and local history enthusiasts, so I spent the next few years re-transcribing it and producing a PDF version. I finished the transcription in August 2016, although it's clear it's going to be a continuing project as I add more background information. As I live about 5 hours drive from Cornwall, I'm able to holiday in the beautiful County of Kernow (or should that be Country!) at least once a year, visiting and photographing the places connected with the Stevens family. I've also been lucky to have the support of direct descendants of James & Honor, as well as local residents and organisations, who have helped with information and photos.

Leave a Reply

